A Musical Moment – Chevaliers de Sangreal

Once again I am indulging my musical side, sharing a composition I find deeply moving.  It comes from Hans Zimmer who I consider one of the best film score composers in the business.  This particular piece, Chevaliers de Sangreal, is found during the climax of The Da Vinci Code when Landon at last discovers the solution and follows the Rose Line across Paris to the La Pyramid Inversee in front of the Louvre.   I’ve chosen a non-video Youtube link so you can focus on the music without distraction.

Listen for how Zimmer increases the intensity and passion through his use of volume, ascending keys, and instrumentation.

A film composer’s role is to tell a story through music, to amplify and enrich, without taking attention away from what’s happening on the screen.  It takes a delicate touch and a great deal of artistry to find the balance between enriching and overbearing.

A film score can be compared to everything in a book that’s not the story itself.  The subplots, backstory, secondary characters, scene descriptions and any element that adds richness and depth, but does not tell the story.  These elements must be carefully balanced to enrich without being overbearing.  They are the music behind the story.

To see the film clip click here.

Happy Writing.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Character Development, Emotional Impact, Music and Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Musical Moment – Chevaliers de Sangreal

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I sometimes forget how powerful a musical soundtrack can be.

    A scene in a film you may not have seen, “Equilibrium” has Christian Bale putting a record on an old phonograph, it starting with the scratch of much-used vinyl. It’s the beginning of Beethoven’s Ninth, and the impact is incredible as it goes from scratchy recording to full symphonic sound.

    • tsuchigari says:

      I tried to find a clip of what you are describing and couldn’t find it, so I put the movie on my Netflix list instead. Looks right up my alley.

  2. tikiman1962 says:

    Couldn’t agree with you more. A truly magnificent soundtrack creates a pulse underneath the action and dialogue but stands on its own as a stunning tetament to mood and emotion. Have you heard Zimmer’s soundtrack to Hannibal? My wife absolutely gushes at “Vide cor meum” which is an aria from a non-exostant opera portrayed in the film. It is filled with such longing and passion.

    • tsuchigari says:

      I went and listened to Vide Cor Meum – loved it. Thank you for sharing. Vide Cor Meum means “See my heart” and the song has roots in the story of Dante’s Inferno. (I had fun Googling)

  3. Pingback: The Weekly Review #7 « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.