Posted by: Jodi | March 13, 2010

Weekly Review #5

This week I finally finished the rough draft of my WIP.  I honestly never thought that I would make it this far.  I owe a big part of finishing this goal to the readers of this blog.  It’s one thing to put a goal on a post it note; it’s quite another to be accountable to real people.  As a reward, and for some perspective, I put the manuscript away for the week and worked on other projects.  I was hoping to make it to the library and get some good reads to enjoy but family life stepped in and made it impossible.  Serious revision starts Monday. I hope to finish the first draft phase in 6-8 weeks.

With the manuscript on the back burner I made time to finish a short story and submit it to Soft Whispers Magazine. Nothing dark this time, thank heavens.  I let my mother-in-law read my romance/horror story “Love You to Pieces” and she’s never looked at me the same since.  (If you missed it there’s a link in the sidebar).

The blog this week has a bunch of fun entries.  Looking back I realize that I didn’t do anything ‘serious’ when it comes to the topic of writing.  I’m sure you’ll forgive me.  Here’s the list of this week’s posts:

Rough Draft DONE!

Movie Review: Ponyo

Anamorphosis Art – Seeing things in a new way

Fun Friday – Tanja Turunen “I Walk Alone” If you enjoyed this music video also check out my earlier post with another of my favorite Nightwish songs “Sleeping Sun”.

This was my most successful blog week with a record number of page views on Friday, more than doubling by previous best day.  I have Rik over at UphillWriting to thank after his glowing review of my blog on Friday.  If you haven’t checked out his blog lately go do it, there’s lots of great information about nearly everything writing.  He does a great job and is a great resource.

Until next time –

Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. Congratulations on your milestone. May your next one be easier to reach.

    Oh, and thanks SO much for Nightsun and Tarja Turunen. While her voice is an “acquired taste”, it isn’t taking long for me to love it.

  2. Have you ever heard of/participated in/considered NaNoWriMo? It is not designed for writers to put forth their best effort, only to force them to complete a 50,000 word novel within the month of November. You add a lot of crap, a lot of filler; you spell things out more instead of abbreviating. BUT if you “succeed” you just might have the makings of a workable/rewritable manuscript.
    Nevertheless, congrats upon completion of the first draft. NOW the real work begins.


Categories

