Posted by: Jodi | February 23, 2010

Meet the Characters

It’s time to start disclosing some juicy manuscript tidbits!  Today we will meet a few of the secondary cast members featured in my manuscript.

First we meet Bremin, portrayed here by Jeremy Irons.  He works as an informant to the Wielders, a group who use a power referred to as the Khandashii.   He holds the most secrets of any character and functions as a chameleon,  adapting to the situation as needed.  He is my favorite character,  if I’m allowed a favorite character, for his sheer usefulness in the story.

The High Lady Alystra, portrayed here by Dame Judi Dench, is the fearless leader of the Wielders of the Khandashii.  She earned her right as leader when she played a pivotal role during the Mage wars.  Her efforts brought peace to the land and unity to the three towers.  She is also one of the oldest living Wielders.

I still have to “cast” images for my three principal characters.  The more I get to know them the harder it is to find a suitable image.  It’s not necessary to have an image, but it sure is helpful.  There are few fantasy genre pictures where the woman are wearing clothes and aren’t evil!  Note, don’t do an image search for fantasy woman – trust me.  I also have to create suitable last names for just about everyone, something I dread but know is necessary.

This work is completely free of elves, dwarves, dragons, and all the other RPG standard characters.  I can’t bring myself to use them.

Until then – Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. Two of my favorite characters. I’ll be watching. Great idea to visualize your characters.


Categories

