Posted by: Jodi | February 7, 2010

Should have gone armed

To be a good writer you have to read, read, read.  Reading is the principal way I learn about writing, discovering how good story lines are formed, what makes a character likable, and what I like and dislike in literature.

It is a rare day when I can go to the library and actually look at the books without the company of my little screamers. So yesterday when hubby said he would come with me and watch them I jumped on the chance. I reached the adult books (as in non children’s books) and realized to my horror that I didn’t bring my reading “hit list”.  Agggh! Picking a random fantasy off the rack can be exciting, a literary Russian Roulette. I’ve found some really interesting reads that way. I’ve also found books that were so bad that I stopped reading before the end of the first chapter.

What did I end up with? Two collections of novellas, one involving dragons and the other, speculative fiction. At least I know that these are solid and well written works that have been approved by other writers.

And that’s good enough for me.

Responses

  1. I must agree that reading is a primary way to learn about writing. However, I would add one more, sandwiched in between READING and WRITING.

    That is CRITIQUING. I have found that the more often I read and review another person’s work, the better I understand my own craft.

  2. I agree wholeheartedly, critiquing really puts writing under a magnifying glass. I hope to find more opportunities in time. Thank you for your comment.


Categories

