Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

Sadly, I would have never picked this book up on my own to read, it’s not the book’s fault, it’s mine.  I don’t read many “journalism”  books, not because I don’t care, but because they don’t often come my way.

I was happy to have read it, for I feel now that I have a better understanding about what is really going on in Afghanistan and Pakistan.  This is a book that inspires people to find ways to make a difference in the world instead of burying themselves in the details of their own lives.

Was it an easy read?  No.   I struggled to make myself finish.  There was page after page of discouragements and setbacks and dealing with politics and government leaders that dragged and dragged on.  The information was important to the book and the point it was trying to make but it did not make enjoyable reading.

Should people read it?  YES.  Any one who wants to gain a deeper understanding of what life is really life in Afghanistan and Pakistan should read it.  Those who assume that certain cultures or faiths (i.e. Muslims) are out to get us should read it.

Greg Mortenson did what his heart told him was right and has changed the lives and futures of thousands of children in Afghanistan and Pakistan by providing schools that gave a well-rounded non extremist curriculum to both boys AND girls.

Tom Brokaw quote from the cover:  “Thrilling … proof that one ordinary person. with the right combination of character and determination, really can change the world.”

Websites associated with the book:

www.threecupsoftea.com

www.penniesforpeace.com

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_Cups_of_Tea

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books and Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

  1. I’m with you on this one. I would not have picked this book off the shelf, but someone handed me the thing on CD (allowing hands-free reading), and swore I’d like it.

    I didn’t want to like it, but in the end, I did. Despite some rather lengthy passages that did not move the story along (it was real life, after all, and real life is seldom as exciting as fiction).

    In the end I found myself better educated about the people I’ve done a batch labeling of “terrorist”. Yes, there certainly are terrorists in that part of the world, but then, there are in California, too.

  2. Pingback: 100th Post! « My Literary Quest

Comments are closed.