Posted by: Jodi | January 28, 2010

A Writing Epiphany at Last!

A few days ago I had an epiphany that will tighten up my opening chapters, however applying that idea is going to take extensive reworking of what I have written.  I’m hoping I can work on the rewrite while continuing to write through the rough draft  without losing momentum.   I made the mistake of taking a few days off and it took two days of mediocre writing to get back on track.   I use the term “days” loosely – my only quality writing happens in the early morning and late in the evenings when I can write and think undisturbed.  During the day if I dare to “work” I get ambushed by children.  One is napping now and the other has discovered a new show he really likes so I’m sneaking in some time on the computer.

Back to the rewrite – the original idea required characters to travel from city to city in response to key events.  Not only did this slow down the progress of the story, it did not create a relationship that was crucial later on.  It’s hard to care about someone you have never met.  The solution, placing the characters together to start, radically changes the tone at the beginning.  I like it much more.

Hopefully I’ll like something enough to share it here, until then –

Happy Writing!

Responses

  1. Sounds like you are working through some of your character issues as well. Wishing you luck with the rewrites.


Categories

