A beginning of sorts…

There are so many people out there that say “I want to write a book someday” that the phrase is becoming cliche. I don’t like telling people that I am writing a book, let alone a fantasy novel. The process is far too intimate to share with mere commoners. I haven’t even told my mother. My poor husband, on the other hand, has to deal with constant bizarre questions about probability and plotting. The dear thing tries to be helpful, and thankfully he likes reading fantasy, but in the end I am the one who still has to write it.

Who am I? I guess an intro is in order. We’ll do away with names until I have a loving fan club. I’m a writer, gardener, runner, fighter, and a traveler with a soft spot for the Food Network.  I’m also a stay at home mom with two very young kids.  I have a dream of becoming an author.  Although I would love to become the next fantasy writer superstar, the chances are I’m going to have a tough time getting a publisher to even look at my work. I have never been published, don’t have any writing credentials to speak of, and I’m working in an area of writing that has a small but loyal fan base. With the increasing popularity of fantasy movies this fan base is thankfully growing, but will never equal that of standard fiction.

Even as I’m writing this I have one kid sitting on my foot and raiding my pens. The other is screaming about how he wants to go to the beach because he saw an ad on PBS for Beaches Family Resort. No amount of explaining is helping him understand that we live in a landlocked state. And this isn’t the first beach related tantrum – I would love if they took that ad off the air.

Child eating pens is now sucking on highlighter, are these things toxic?

It’s high time to sign off. More soon.

About Jodi

I'm an aspiring novelist working in fantasy and suspense, for now. I also have two pretty awesome blogs! https://myliteraryquest.wordpress.com and http://jodilmilnerauthor.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Personally Speaking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A beginning of sorts…

  1. jenn says:

    haha, your post got me smiling, especially about your kids.

    best of luck!

    – “mathidiot” from yahoo answers

  2. nrhatch says:

    You’ve come a long way, Jo . . . with two babies under foot!

    Write on!

Comments are closed.