Posted by: Jodi | July 18, 2011

Book Review, “The Trust” by Sean Keefer

One of the perks of having a writing blog is the chance to read and review fresh new fiction from début authors.  These stories never fail to entertain and I feel privileged to be among the first to read to the work of these talented writers.

Today’s book “The Trust” is the creative work of lawyer, musician, and now writer Sean Keefer.  Although built around a series of legal actions, this book isn’t your typical legal thriller.  There are no heated courtroom battles or long sequences of complicated “who done it” while the main character explains himself.  In fact, the story centers around an area of legal work that I wasn’t familiar, the generally uneventful arena of probate court.

In the book, attorney Noah Parks finds himself in a unique position when a strange gentleman enters his office informing him that he is the chosen representative for the estate of the rich and eccentric Leonardo Xavier Cross, a man he has never heard of.  Part of his legal fee are the contents of a mysterious safe deposit box.  What he finds there leads him from one place to another in a manner reminiscent of the Da Vinci Code.  Through the course of the book the reader is pulled down a path of the unlikely and surprising, where no one is what they seem and the body count keeps rising.  Will Noah find all the answers before he’s next?  Is he trusting the right people?

Sean has done a wonderful job creating a sense of place in his writing.  In The Trust he captures the feel of Charleston, South Carolina with a deft hand, allowing the reader to feel as if they were walking with the main character through his adventures.  Sean also shows care in crafting characters that are both well-rounded and interesting.

I would recommend The Trust to anyone who enjoys books that center around the legal system, adventure, and intrigue.

 

And now a word from the lovely folks at Novel Publicity -

Tour Notes:

Please vote for my blog (My Literary Quest) in the traffic-breaker poll for this tour. The blogger with the most votes wins a free promotional twitterview and a special winner’s badge. I want that to be me! You can vote in the poll by visiting The Trust’s official blog tour page and scrolling all the way to the bottom.

You can also enter to win a free paperback copy of this novel on The Trust’s official blog tour page. The winner of the give-away will be announced on Wednesday, August 10 – be sure to enter before then!

Book Trailer for The Trust:

Learn more about this author by visiting his websiteblogFacebook or GoodReads pages or by connecting with him on Twitter.

Responses

  1. Excellent review! I’m definitely going to read this one! I voted for you immeiately – I hope I am the first of many so that you get the most traffic and best blog review awards. I have not read all the others, but I cannot imagine a better more concise review by anyone else!

    Whoever reads this comment, let’s build up the votes for Jodi!!!

    • Paula, you are truly a gem! Thanks for the vote, I appreciate it. I love getting to read all this new fiction, and be able to share it with other readers.

  2. Looks like an interesting one, I’ll look for it. I voted for you!

    • Thanks for the vote Michael! One of these days one of these great debut novels will catch the attention of the public and I will be proud to say I was one of the first to review it – until then, there are always more great books to read and great writers to connect with.

      By the way – How is the Rogue Shop doing?

  3. Thank you so much for a great and very flattering review. Best of luck in the competition!
    Sean

    • And thank you Sean for coming by and reading and commenting here at My Literary Quest. It’s been delightful getting to know and read new authors. Come back anytime!

  4. Great job reviewing “The Trust.” I’ll vote for you. Good luck.

    • Thanks Nancy – you are terrific!

  5. I love your review! It would not be a book that I would normally think of reading, but you make is sound so interesting.

    • Thanks for coming by! I personally don’t read much in the legal fiction genre and it was a nice change to have The Trust to review. I’m glad you liked it.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,662 other followers

