Posted by: Jodi | June 29, 2011

Messing with the SEO’s

Image credit: hongkiat.com

If you’ve been at the blogging game for any amount of time chances are that you have run across the acronym of SEO.  Search Engine Optimization can greatly if not drastically improve traffic flow to your site and is a must for anyone ready to transition from blog hobbyist to serious blogger.

Sad thing is, I only know the bare bones basics of how to optimize my blog for to make them accessible to major search engines.  Here are the few things I know do help:

  1. Blog on a schedule -When a search engine looks at your blog it notes the time and day of the week.  The more times it finds new material posted at that same time slot, say every Tuesday at 9 AM, the higher up your page will be rated.  Translated into English, your page will be closer to the top of the results list if any of your topics are searched.
  2. Tell big search engines that you are there – WordPress and other blogging sites have a verification key you can tie into the tools section of your blog.   That way they know you are out there are and they can send out their bots and whatnot. I could get really technical on this point, but that would be really boring reading.
  3. Links are good – Everytime a different blog or website or whatever links to your content it tells the search people that someone likes what you write.  This is a good thing.  Actually getting people to link to you is a different story.  Having good content is a must, so is marketing yourself through various means.

Lately I’ve been messing around with posting schedules, meaning I’ve been a general lazy pants and can’t seem to write anything on a schedule without a whole lot of prior planning.  Planning that I haven’t been doing.  With the irregular posting schedule I have noticed a drop in hits to the site.  I also haven’t been putting in as much thought and effort into the material that does make it to the blog, so there has been less commenting and interest. Trust me, it hasn’t helped either.

If you are willing to put in the time and effort with working with the search engines in mind it can pay off with higher hits.  I can’t promise that it will bring more regular readers, or better commenting. If you want that, be prepared to comment regularly on blogs with similar topics to yours.  You’d be surprised at how well it works.

Responses

  1. Great post. Thanks to you, I plan to try to set a regular schedule and to comment more on blogs similar to mine.

    • I’ve found that it does wonders to spend that little extra time scheduling and seeking out bloggers with similiar interests – these last two months I’ve dropped off the face of the planet and there has been a huge drop in my stats. Although for right now, I’m alright with that.

  2. Good info! Thanks so much!

  3. Great info Jodi, I knew some of it, but had no clue that it helps to post regularly at the same time etc. Good to know, for the future as I’m being quite lazy myself but real life is getting in the way of my blogging so I only post when inspiration strikes…and I have been lurking on most blogs due to having problems typing (hand pain) so if you do not see many comments from me, that is why…

    • I totally understand lurking, I’m doing way too much of it these days. I do read plenty of blogs but it’s usually on my phone and on the go where it’s hard to leave comments. Hope this little hint helps!

  4. [...] your blog. Related articles4 Blogging Strategies That Really Work (smallbusinessmavericks.com)Messing with the SEO’s (myliteraryquest.wordpress.com)What Is Website Positioning? – SEO Leeds (ronmedlin.com) [...]

  5. [...] Messing with the SEO’s (myliteraryquest.wordpress.com) [...]

  6. Networking is always a good way to generate more visits, like you mentioned. Linking to other blogs who are willing to link to you is good karma no matter what. I always enjoy your blog and I know exactly what you mean by having less time to plan and keep up a regular schedule: Life is always full of chores and events to attend to!

    • There is nothing like good karma! I regret that lately I’ve been off the map, so much happens I feel I’ve been missing out. When the kids are back in school I’ll be spending more time here on the blog and with my other projects.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,655 other followers

